This happens because you let it happen.
At some point someone either clicked allow or disabled permissions.
The prod system should also be isolated from a single dev in some way as well, and the backups too.
Edit:
the cloud provider's API allows for destructive action without confirmation, it stores backups on the same volume as the source data, and “wiping a volume deletes all backups.” Crane also points out that CLI tokens have blanket permissions across environments.
Yeah, that’s stupid.