"No censorship" almost always means it's full of fascists.
Also holy slop are ALL the texts in that image nothingburgers, wth.
"No censorship" almost always means it's full of fascists.
Also holy slop are ALL the texts in that image nothingburgers, wth.
welcomed by a wall of ai slop brain rot, tried scrolling a bit but only saw more ai slop...
Owned by LibertyMediaLLC, who also runs Liberty-Social, which asks for account creation/login instead of showing anything, though the description sounds like facebook.
Not fond of shorts being on the front page no matter which category you click.
Dunno, but any of these "free speech" platforms always feel like havens for eventual racists, bigots and worse to thrive, though view-verse is currently very empty, so it might not end up as another cesspool.
I just assume anything with "Freedom", "Liberty", "Patriot", etc. in the name are grifters trying to scam and/or datamine MAGA. "Libre" I think is still safe because it sounds too European.
... brief search interlude ...
aaaaand LibertyMediaLLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Liberty Media Corporation, a sprawling corporate holding company that is 49% owned by one John C. Malone, Atlanta Braves owner, Trump Inaugural Committee (round 1) donor and onetime largest individual landowner in the US.
...yup, that tracks.
UPDATE: I based the above off the parent comment, but view-verse lists its parent company as "Liberty Social Media LLC", not "LibertyMediaLLC". The former is much harder to pin down, the contact information on the google app is "Liberty Smith" and the dev site is a generic vibe-coding-looking website hosted on base44, so it may not be under LMC, just riding its coattails. Still, would not trust.
I based the above off the parent comment, but view-verse lists its parent company as “Liberty Social Media LLC”, not “LibertyMediaLLC”.
My bad, didn't notice that screw up.
To add to the cherry of "totally trustyworthy, you guys", liberty social media has this corporate email on their about page: libertysocialmediallc@gmail.com.
Im kinda glad foss started using libre as it feels like something the right would not be big on using. sounds to foreign.
According to Blacklight, it also uses Stripe Inc fingerprinting.
YouTube is starting (already has really) to become an echo chamber catered to those with DMCA rights, and trolls pretending that they do. We need a P2P community run video platform, archive.org's torrent platform would be a decent backend but they are also starting to kneel to certain groups too.
I don't know if it's good or bad that I can smell the vibecoding just from the thumbnail image
all 15 comments